Prof. Vincent O'Flaherty

Head of the group, Established Professor of Microbiology

I have expertise in microbial ecology, methanogenesis and bioprocess research, focused on: anaerobic biofilm reactor technology for biorefining, energy production and wastewater treatment; and mitigation of greenhouse gas emissions in agriculture. I'm co-founder of GlasPort Bio and lead inventor of LtAD technology.

I'm interested in collaboration and partnerships with academic colleagues and the private sector on mitigation of greenhouse gas emissions from agriculture and agri-industries and on anaerobic biofilm reactor technology for biorefining, energy production and wastewater treatment.

I'm funded by the Irish Environmental Protection Agency, Enterprise Ireland, the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine and the EU Commission. I'm a Science Foundation Ireland Principal Investigator and Funded Investigator in SFI BiOrbic, and scientific lead for the Sustainability Pillar of the Dairy Processing Technology Centre.

Current Staff

Senior Researchers

Dr Therese Mahony

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr Alejandra Carolina Villa Montoya

Dr Anna Trego

Dr Corine Nzeteu

Dr Simon Mills

Dr Tania Palmeiro-Sánchez

Dr Yuchen Liu

PhD Researchers

Alison Graham

Alison Hall

Caroline O'Donnell 

Emily Roskam (Teagasc)

Emma Davis (Teagasc)

Hannah Vanhoof  (KU Leuven

Jasmine Connolly

Julien Vincent (M2ex-MSCA)

Kris Silveira (M2ex-MSCA)

Michael McDonagh

Neal Folliard (Teagasc)

Omobolanle (Blessing) Kalenikanse (Teagasc)


Somiame Okuofu (Teagasc)


Andrew Bartle

Sandra O'Connor

Industrial Researchers (GlasPort Bio)

Dr Camilla Thorn

Dr Dermot Hughes

Paul Abberton

Dr Stephen Nolan

Alumni (Keep Updating)

Tribute to this special woman in science.


Professor of Microbiology

Member of Royal Irish Academy

Mary Robinson's nominee on the Council of State

Chairwoman of An Taisce - the National Trust for Ireland

The O'Flaherty Lab is proud of its past members and the effort they put into their research, careers and most importantly themselves. 


Dr Claribel Buenano Vargas (2024) Dr Fabiana M.B. Coelho (2023) Dr Yuchen Liu (2023) Dr Shaun Connolly (2023)

Dr B. Conall Holohan (2023) Dr Meritxell Grau-Butinyac (2022) Dr Stephen Nolan (2020) Dr Paul McAteer (2019)

Dr Chui Sang Lee (2018) Dr Lilit Tonoyan (2017) Dr Corine Nzeteu  (2016) Dr Aoife Joyce (2016)

Dr Ciara Keating (2015) Dr Sinéad Murphy (2014) Dr John Flannery (2013) Dr Paulina Rajko-Nenow (2013)

Dr Dermot Hughes (2013) Dr Eoin Gunnigle (2013) Dr Katarzyna Bialek (2012) Dr Xiaoyun Chen (2012)

Dr Maria Barrett (2011) Dr Alma Siggins (2011) Dr Fiona Brennan (2010) Dr Sean Connaughton

Dr Rory Moses McKeown (2009) Dr Joe O'Reilly (2009) Dr Olivia Rice (2007) Dr Colm Scully (2007)

Dr Ann-Marie Enright (2006) Dr Gavin Collins (2004) Dr Sharon Carroll (2003)

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Lara M. Paulo Dr Fabiana S. Paula Dr Florence Abraham Dr Denise Cysneiros Dr ChangSoo Lee

Visiting Researcher

Alifia Issabella Mulyawati King Mongkut's University of Technology Thonburi (KMUTT)

Michela Pacchione Queens University of Belfast

Graduate Student

Arsha Wilfred (2023) Alison Hall (2022) Chloe Mulqueen (2019) Darren McHugh (2015)

Undergraduate Student (Incomplete list)

Aideen Gallagher Adam Jones Aaron Nolan Diarmuid Martin Ellen Tracy Jodie Finn Louise Murphy

Luna Frank Michael Campbell Shauna Smyth

(if you were part of MEL family, please contact us for update )